Apple Chips

Last week I saw some apple chips on Pinterest and decided to try it out.  I think I’m hooked.  They were incredibly easy, really tasty, and relatively healthy.  If you like crunchy snacks, you’ll probably like these!

I have three apples pictured, but I only used two.  Honestly, these are the only things you will need to customize these tasty treats.

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees F and get cutting!

The recipe that I read emphasized “really thin apple slices” a little too much.  Stay away from paper thin slices.  If you notice the thicker slices in my photos, THOSE are the types of slices you want.  If you have something that cores and slices your apples, even better.  I’m awful with a knife, but if you’re able to cut big round pieces instead, those are awesome.

Line your two baking trays with either baking sheets or aluminum foil (like me) so that the apples won’t stick to the tray.  Arrange one layer of apple slices on each.

Sprinkle your desired amount of cinnamon sugar on top of the apples.  If you are trying to stay away from sugar, just sprinkling cinnamon on them will be just as tasty.

Throw them in the oven and bake for 2.5 to 3 hours.  The recipe I found online said to flip the apples half way through, but if, like me, your apples are sticking to the foil, they’ll be just fine if you don’t flip them.

I did 2.5 hours of baking.

When your timer goes off, turn off the oven and leave the apples in for another hour as the oven cools off.  This will help them get even more crispy!

This is what I got from 2 apples.  Now remember, a LOT of my slices were really thin and I was either not able to get them off the foil or they broke into tiny pieces when I tried.  If your slices are too thick they will come out mushy, but I made the mistake of making my slices too THIN.  Do some experimenting and find a happy medium.  These are a great treat and a healthier choice than your regular potato chips!

Enjoy everybody!

❤ – Jamie

Leave a Reply

