How to Make Iced Tea

tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o1_540

This is one of my favorite things to do in the summer.
You need:
A large jar.  I use a Costco sized pickle jar.
6-8 tea bags.  I used 7 of Good Earth.
A spoon.
Water.
Sunshine!

tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o2_400 tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o3_400

Wash the jar first to make sure there is little to no bacteria in it.

Sun tea takes at least 6 hours of direct sunlight.  I typically only have 3 or 4 by the time I get around to it so I fill half of the jar with cold filtered water and the other half of the jar with water I boiled in my kettle.
Wrap the string for the tea bags around the handle of the spoon and balance it over the mouth of the jar.  Poor the hot water over the tea bags to fill the jar completely.
Remove the tea bags from the spoon and close the lid.
Set it out in the sunshine for the desired amount of time.

tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o4_540

Once the sun runs out, I test the tea and if it is good I put it in the fridge and enjoy it the next day when it is nice and cool!

tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o6_540 tumblr_nammpwE4F91r9u7j5o7_540

Here is the video I made!  Enjoy!
❤ Jamie

Leave a Reply

