#TBT Christmas Break, 2008 Part 1

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

This is the only year of school I had to ask someone for a ride home for my break. My first two years of school my sister was there and my last year I had a car. Ironically, I am very grateful I didn’t have to drive because the day we left for Oregon is the day it started snowing. Oregon in the snow is kind of like California when it rains. Most people don’t know how to drive in it, there is a serious lack of public preparation for the weather, and you should probably just stay home and eat bonbons lest some incompetent driver runs into you. I would probably be that incompetent driver, I will be honest.
Luckily my friend Kate is fearless and she braved the dangerous roads to get us home for Christmas.

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

We were already in Portland by the time we needed the snow chains. Kate, the independent and resourceful, was excellent at putting them on while the rest of us were lame and stayed in the car.

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

The next morning. A small break in snow for the sun to shine through.

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

My friend Mikaela and I went on a photography walk that day in the snow. This is probably the most snow I saw at my house in Oregon during the ten years I lived there. It was so much fun! Staying home a lot isn’t exactly a dream for my school break, but who cares when there’s SNOW?!

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

This is Sierra. She wasn’t so sure about the snow, but she LOVED that we were all outside more. She hated the rain and would literally stand looking out our back door and sigh because she missed the sun as much as we did. I think, despite how cold it was on her feet, that she liked snow more than rain. Watching her chase after her ball (aka the best toy ever) when the snow was six or more inches deep was hilarious. Also, she was an excellent poser for the camera.

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

One of my favorite photos of all time. Sierra and sister being absolutely adorable while playing in the snow.

#TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1 #TBT Christmas Break 2008 Part 1

Part 2, coming next week!

Jamie

Leave a Reply

