Road trip days 3 and 4: Oklahoma to North Carolina

Road Trip 2014: Day 3

Day Three

Our second longest driving day. We left my cousin’s bright and early. They let us park our car in their garage so we didn’t have to repack it in the morning and were on the road by 6:45. We got to see another gorgeous sunrise as we left the city.

Road Trip 2014: Day 3 Road Trip 2014: Day 3

We stopped for lunch at Cracker Barrel in Arkansas and met my brother-in-law’s parents. I hadn’t seen them since 2009 so it was nice to spend an hour off the road with some great people. Plus breakfast for lunch is pretty fabulous.

Road Trip 2014: Day 3 Road Trip 2014: Day 3

I told our waiter that I like a lot of creamer with my coffee. “So basically a little coffee with your creamer?” he joked. Then he came back with this much creamer. I laughed so hard.

Road Trip 2014: Day 3 Road Trip 2014: Day 3 Road Trip 2014: Day 3

Day three wasn’t as long as day one, but by this point I was very tired and it was hard to find a hotel at the end of the day. We really needed something where unloading the car would be easy. We eventually found a Days Inn right outside of Birmingham, Alabama. I mean, we were in five states that day. It was 29 degrees outside by the time we stopped. Thank goodness that I could finally sleep without a sleeping pill.

Road Trip 2014: Day 4

Day Four

Day four was the only day we didn’t see the sun rise. We slept a bit late and packing the car probably took a little longer than normal. When we got the bag on top of the car I realized that the biggest vacuum packed bag with my bedding had re-inflated itself and we couldn’t fit everything back into the bag. Thankfully it was the last day so we just took a bunch of clothes and stuffed them into the corners of the car. Thank goodness for my mom being there because my stress level immediately went through the roof.

Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4

We drove over 2600 miles on our trip.

Road Trip 2014: Day 4

Last tank of gas, last tank of gas! We stopped for gas and milkshakes in South Carolina.

Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4 Road Trip 2014: Day 4

We got to my sister’s house in North Carolina before six. I stopped documenting once we got there. I will post some pictures later that I got once home, but this is the end of my cross-country adventure. I am so grateful for my dad for working so much on my car before we left to make sure we were safe, for my mom for volunteering to come with me and driving so much, for my cousin and her family for dinner and a place to crash, for Jon’s parents for lunch, and especially for Kasey and Jon for letting me stay with them for the time being.
I will continue to blog about my experiences in an east coast southern state as opposed to a west coast liberal California. I hope you are all having a great holiday season!
Happy Christmas!

Jamie

One thought on “Road trip days 3 and 4: Oklahoma to North Carolina

  1. OH MY GOODNESS!!! Are you nearer to Charlotte or Raleigh-Durham?! I have family I visit down in NC, and I can’t deny I would love to come meet up with you if I am ever there. (If that isn’t creepy or weird…I totally understand if it is hahah!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

