New York City || Day two, the performance and the tea room

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

We’re off! Risa lives a little ways outside of the city and we got a late start so we arrived in town right around lunch time.
Also, from this point on, Jon (the brother-in-law) took most of the photos. I will indicate if someone else took the photo, but otherwise just assume it was him.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Jon will literally always suggest pizza for a meal. Risa’s friend Randy took us to one of his old favorite places. After we stopped at Starbucks, of course.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

After lunch we went adventuring and found ourselves in Central Park.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

This is Risa. I can’t tell you how long she and Kasey have been friends. It’s so nice that they both live on the east coast now because it’s a lot easier for them to see each other. They both love writing, tumblr, and fandoms… not to mention Legolas. She was Kasey’s maid of honor at her wedding and she bought Kasey a life sized Edward Cullen cutout for her bachelorette. In other words, she’s pretty great.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

But first, let me take a selfie!

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: An Introduction New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie
After wandering Central Park for a little while, we dropped Risa off for her rehearsal and then Randy took us to explore some shops close by. We introduced Kasey to the wonder that is Lush and then Randy took us to a similar store where we… washed our hands. He earned himself the nickname Selfish Smooth Hands that day.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Kasey
Risa is a part of an acapella group that typically performs at the renaissance faire. We got to see them do a fun set that afternoon. I had never heard Risa sing so that was cool.

IMG_1902-edited2

Photo credit: Kasey

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

After the performance we went to Alice’s Tea Cup, which is this super precious tea room with an insane amount of tea options. I got a pot of lavender earl grey. I liked it, but I think I liked Kasey’s Sparrow’s Soul better. Jon, Kasey and I shared a tea for three, which included smoked salmon sandwiches, scones, cookies, and more! Talk about winning a way into this girl’s heart!

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Jon is a giant. In case you thought he wasn’t. He is.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Chins.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Oh oh, and mason jars! If they didn’t have me at tea room, they got me with the mason jars.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Kasey

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Kasey

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie
Cute sister is cute.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie
The photoshoot continues. We had to teach him how to sexy pose with the glasses.

New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house New York City: day 2, the performance and the tea house

Photo credit: Jamie
We walked a lot on day one in the city but it was oddly relaxing. We didn’t get hard core into the tourist mode and just explored a slower, more quiet part of town. It also wasn’t that cold and I was lulled into a false sense of warmth that slapped me around on day four.
I didn’t document day three at all. We stayed around Risa and Randy’s place and only left to go bowling for a couple hours. I didn’t do half as bad as is usual and I also found out that I throw the ball in a weird way. Interesting.

I will post day four next week! Have you guys been to New York City?

Jamie

Introduction | Day One | Day Four | Day Five

7 thoughts on “New York City || Day two, the performance and the tea room

  1. Pingback: My first time in New York City! || An Introduction | jamieddaily

  2. Pingback: New York City || Day One, the road trip | jamieddaily

  3. Pingback: New York City: Day five, the way home | jamieddaily

  4. Pingback: My First Time! | jamieddaily

  5. Pingback: New York City: Day four, the tourists and the thai food | jamieddaily

  6. I LOVED New York City. We visited for a day when I was a kid (I grew up in and live on the complete opposite end of the state), and I loved every minute of it. It is so busy and bustling and wonderful. I hope to get back someday soon. I still have the teddy bear I bought at FAO Schwartz. My parents told me I could get it only if I carried it around all day (thinking that would dissuade me…it didn’t!). I bought it and still have it. I need to go back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

