exploring the lake at easter | days 1 and 2

Kasey and Jon have been going to this lake house for basically years. They rave about it, brought my parents one time, and make time for it multiple times a year.
This was my first time there, and now I get it. There are pine trees, water, a screened in porch, and so much silence and innocent good times that it is the best addiction I’ve ever found.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

I packed a lot of my current favorite clothing items. The color scheme is incredibly boring. How has this happened to me?

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Polly got some last minute snuggles from mom before we left.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

My first glimpse of the lake, literally right behind the house. Are you kidding me? Bliss.
We got there at golden hour and I was beside myself.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Day Two.

We slept in a little bit on Good Friday and the boys made us breakfast. I appreciate morning people who like to cook, but really, how can you wake up grumpy in a place as stunning and peaceful as this?
You can’t.
Kasey and Jon’s friend and co-worker, Kevin, was there as well. He brought his precious dog Kody who is around the same age as Coco.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

After breakfast, I sat down with my second…
or third cup of coffee and read some Eragon. I’m obsessed with this book and the Inheritance cycle. Have you guys read them? They are four books by Christopher Paolini and are a kind of Lord of the Rings inspired set of books about dragons and dragon riders. PLEASE do not judge the books by the movie.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Among other things, riding bikes at the lake house is super fun. I rode this beast of a beach cruiser in the most wonderful color ever. Orange. I hadn’t ridden a bike in years, but after some wobbly starts and a rough time steering something much bigger than my childhood bike, I got the hang of it. My sister and I went on two bike rides this day, if that gives you any idea how much we loved it.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

This is the actual lake. The water behind the house is more of a canal. It was super windy and the water was cold, but so super stunning. Let’s be honest, though. Southern water isn’t the best. The water is literally black because of the dirt. Who knows what’s down there? And it’s a lot more shallow than one might think. It’s a good thing it wasn’t super hot because I’m not sure I would love to swim in there.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Don’t worry. We’re working on that “pasty white skin” thing.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Coco was in her element. I have never seen a dog this water obsessed. Ever.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Also, I have a thing about taking pictures of feet. I don’t know why.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Check out those eyeballs!

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

The following photographs of myself were taken by my sister Kasey.
Check those high wasted shorts, ladies and gents! American Eagle, clearance. Love!

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

And THESE following photographs of myself and sister were taken by the brother-in-law Jon.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

Coco wasn’t so sure about us riding off by ourselves so she chased us several times until we finally lost her. Jon and Kevin walked back to the house with the dogs while Kasey and I went on a bike riding adventure, including a crooked seat, trying to bike through sand, and some sore butts. That’s one thing from childhood and bike riding I had forgotten.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

We spent a good part of the rest of the day relaxing at the dock until driving into town for mexican food for dinner and buying easter candy.

exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2 exploring the lake at easter-days 1 and 2

If y’all stuck with me through this behemoth of a blog post, we were destined to be friends. I will post about days three and four next week! I hope you all had fabulous Easters, days, weeks, months, etc. Get outside and explore the world around you! Collect some moments instead of things and embrace your family, chosen or otherwise.
Until next time,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “exploring the lake at easter | days 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: the lake house, revisited || an introduction | jamieddaily

  2. Pingback: exploring the lake at easter | days 3 and 4 | jamieddaily

Leave a Reply

