my first time // in the atlantic

11202649_662359700496_4188439303389692012_n

One of the best things about moving somewhere new is the brand new adventures and experiences you get to enjoy. There are a lot of “firsts,” and the locals are always down for telling you their favorite haunts. Be it a restaurant, hiking trail, beach, or church, it is the good kind of culture shock that I like to throw myself into.
I am a west coast native. I lived in Texas for three years, but besides that I have hugged the coastline pretty religiously. Being on the east coast is a whole new ball game. There is southern charm and the boys walk you to your car and hold your door open for you. There are states upon states, all within close driving distance. There are pine trees and humidity and hurricanes.
And there is the Atlantic Ocean.
I have been in the Pacific more times than I can count. No matter where you are–even in Hawaii–the water is cold and salty. It bites your skin and leaves you breathless. It leaves a layer of brine on your body that is hard to get off. Despite the many places I have lived and traveled, I kind of assumed that oceans wouldn’t be much different from one another.

When I think of the Atlantic, I think of icebergs and the Titanic. I think of travelers taking months in tall ships to make it to the New World. I don’t really think of Myrtle Beach and picturesque sand dunes. But the beaches of North Carolina leave nothing wanting, and even the water is better than the west coast (best coast). It feels warmer and less heavy. It’s easier to handle an accidental mouth full of Atlantic ocean water. I left the beach with skin tight from sun exposure, but not salty and itchy and uncomfortable.
I could get used to this.

my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic

The Harkni are extremely intense beach goers. They are both mermaids–even Jon–and they could live their entire lives in the water and be content. I, on the other hand, am terrified of sharks and have battled a fierce dislike of high maintenance curly hair my entire life.
Not to be dramatic or anything.
A devotion to Sister and not making people do things by themselves, as well as my recent sense of adventure, had me out in the water almost to the surfers for a very.long.time. If you hear of any great whites in the area, please don’t tell me. I would prefer to body surf in blissful ignorance.

my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic

Okay, maybe I lied a little bit. They don’t spend the whole time in the water. Sometimes Jon will dig a giant hole and then Kasey will gleefully burry him.
Sometimes.

my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic my first time // in the atlantic

Beach hair and no make up at its finest.
There are a lot of fun things happening this June so keep an eye out for more blog posts, coming soon!

Until next time,

Jamie

One thought on “my first time // in the atlantic

  1. Pingback: Let’s celebrate our two year blogiversary! | jamieddaily

Leave a Reply

