the parents in north carolina, part 1

My family came to see me!
In June my parents came out for a good long(ish) visit. I hadn’t seen them since December, which is the longest I have gone without seeing them. Ever.

We did a lot of fabulous things.  Today I will share a general overview of the trip. They were here for ten days but I didn’t take off any time from work. We squeezed as much in as we possibly could, starting with a trip to the beach their very first full day here!

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

It was a great day at the beach, despite the fact that the wind and surf was crazy. I tried to go swimming with Jon at one point and it was a struggle the whole time. After several hours of wind, sun, and family, we briefly went into town to try a local (favorite) donut shop that was seriously delicious. I will always recommend Kure Beach.

 

The next night we went to a coffee shop in town that has an acoustic night every week. I found a Jeep in the parking lot with some top notch decals.

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

Later in the week we took my parents to a pub that we like. I have never been disappointed with their food, and their beer sampler is a serious bargain. Two thumbs up all around!

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

This night was the beginning of a glorious weekend. The men grilled kebabs for us (one of the best meal inventions ever), Kasey and I accidentally dressed alike and took some quality photos because of it.

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

Thanks for these shots, mama.

We ended the night appropriately, especially for my birthday weekend, with Jurassic World.
What. Even. The Heck.
Pause for a mini-rant. Jurassic Park is my favorite movie of all time. Believe it or not, the third movie is the one that got me. I was a fresh-teenager and my sister got the DVD from the library. I found the kid, Eric Kirby (played by Trevor Morgan) incredibly cute and became OBSESSED with the Jurassic Park franchise as a result. It isn’t an origin story to brag about, but the results are quality so I don’t care. I have been waiting for YEARS for the fourth film. It has actually been in the works since I was in high school, so the fact that Jurassic World is finally out is pretty phenomenal, not to mention the fact that the next Jurassic World film is set to release in 2018. Where do I sign up?!
Okay, I’m sorry. Back on track.
Jurassic World was hilarious, nail biting, and appropriately epic. The characters were good, the special effects were up to snuff, and while the soundtrack was lacking the epicness of the original, I appreciated the filmmaker’s understanding of the nostalgia a lot of the audience would have for the original music, as well as the aesthetics of the first park. I’m dying to see the film again.

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

That Monday was my birthday. I don’t really appreciate getting older any more, but my coworkers were serious rockstars, so it was actually pretty fun. My boss got me a cake and a book about North Carolina (clever girl). My buddy also got me an E.T. for my desk. Hooray for inside jokes!

the parents in north carolina, part 1the parents in north carolina, part 1

My parents left the next day and it was sad to get back to normal life, but we got to do a lot of things while they were here. We went to Asheville for a weekend so stick around for those blog posts! Asheville is seriously gorgeous.

Until next time,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “the parents in north carolina, part 1

Leave a Reply

