my first time // in asheville

My family came to see me!
In June my parents came out for a good long(ish) visit. I hadn’t seen them since December, which is the longest I have gone without seeing them. Ever.

Their last weekend here we took a road trip out to Asheville. I’m pretty sure this place is the Portland of North Carolina. Needless to say, I was in heaven.

Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015

After driving for several hours, we got to our hotel just outside of Asheville.  We settled in and then drove into down for some exploring. It was super hot and I was a little toasty in my skinny jeans, but the feel of the city was not lost on me. From the people riding the river on tubes and other floaties, to the street performers and art booths, I felt very at home and familiar, even though I had never been to Asheville before.

Asheville 2015Asheville 2015

Before we went to Asheville I asked my coworkers what we should do. They recommended that we go to the Mast General Store by the main street.
Score.
They have local jams, art, lotions, books and cookware upstairs. Downstairs they have hiking, camping, and outdoor gear for everyone. It was glorious.

Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015

After we explored downtown a little bit, we headed to a distillery where they gave us a tour and we learned how to make whiskey. I now also know how to drink whiskey properly and it is much more enjoyable when done the right way.

Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015

We went back downtown for dinner.
Tupelo Honey. Literally everyone who found out we were going to Asheville for the weekend recommended that we eat here, and we were not disappointed. It was the most delicious southern comfort food we could have dreamed up, complete with complimentary biscuits (and local Tupelo honey) as an appetizer.

Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015Asheville 2015

To say the least, we had a fabulous first day in Asheville. The next day we drove a section of the Blue Ridge Parkway. I will post those photos soon so stick around, will ya?

Until next time,

Jamie

Leave a Reply

