my first time on the Blue Ridge Parkway

My family came to see me!
In June my parents came out for a good long(ish) visit. Their last weekend here we took a road trip out to Asheville. I’m pretty sure this place is the Portland of North Carolina. Needless to say, I was in heaven.

On our way back home, we drove a section of the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Parkway was constructed during the Great Depression and was a part of the New Deal’s job creation. It travels 469 miles and is the longest linear park in America.
My first time in the Appalachians. My first time on the Parkway. My first time seeing an east coast waterfall.
What a fabulous day in the mountains.

my first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkway

Apparently there is this thing that is a passport for the States’ national parks. I don’t have one (yet), so we stamped our hands instead.

my first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkway

Lunch was fabulous. We stopped at a restaurant near the top of a mountain where it was misty and cold. We ate chili and grilled cheese and cornbread.

my first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkway

Toward the end of our drive, we stopped for a quick hike to see a waterfall.

my first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkwaymy first time on the blue ridge parkway

Guys, I adore my family and I miss my parents always. This was such a wonderful trip and I’m excited to see the Parkway in the fall time.

Until next time,

Jamie

One thought on “my first time on the Blue Ridge Parkway

  1. Pingback: Let’s celebrate our two year blogiversary! | jamieddaily

Leave a Reply

