the wedding // home part four

The morning of my friend Lydia’s wedding dawned bright and early. We were out of the house running errands and testing Jamie’s no-coffee-in-the-morning limits. I lasted until lunch time, although I may or may not have been a good sport about it.

the wedding // home part four

We went to one of my favorite shopping centers, Bridgeport, and got crepes and coffee. How sophisticated. As I was taking a picture of my food, Rochelle told me to make sure I got my (tortoise shell Ray-Ban) glasses in the picture so no one would doubt that I am a hipster.
Way to call me out, high school BFF.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

Being proper girls, we took a couple hours to get ready for the wedding. I decided to do the unthinkable and actually use a curling iron in my hair.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

I got the dress at Target. It is amazing–super classy, fun, sporty, and sexy at the same time.

the wedding // home part four

A thought the road trip was pretty boring.

the wedding // home part four

The wedding was super beautiful, and so very Lydia. She and her husband dance. A lot. So you can image how incredible the whole night was. From the dance down the isle to the first dance at the reception, not to mention the extremely talented guests. I am so impressed and proud of the woman that Lydia has become and am so happy for her new adventure with Tuan.
I met Lydia in ninth grade. We had mutual friends and over the year we all got closer and closer until we were basically inseparable. Even after starting college, Lydia and I hung out the most over breaks and were always able to make time for each other. She was always down for a good time, or willing to offer some super loving and honest advice. Her college experience brought out her outgoing nature and she has become such an incredible person that I’m very bummed I live so far away from her.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

Appropriately located in a ballroom, their reception was fabulous and far too short for how much fun it was. The food was delicious, the open bar somewhat utilized by these lightweights, and once again, the dancing was out of this world.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

These were not all mine. I promise.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

With the beautiful bride.

the wedding // home part four

My amazing ladies, what a weekend it was. From happy/sad tears and important conversations, to more laughs than I could ever count, I am so glad that I was able to come out for this much-too-fast weekend. To Rochelle and Colin, thank you so much for letting me stay in your beautiful home and I can’t wait to meet your next little one, coming soon! To Mikaela, you are BEAUTIFUL inside and out. Believe. To Lydia, thank you so much for inviting me and I hope that our next weekend adventure will have more of you in it. Love in such a way that the person you love feels free. Give your 110% into being selfless and you cannot fail. Put God first in everything. I love you.

the wedding // home part four the wedding // home part four

My trip home was longer than expected. It involved missing pilots, boarding the same plane multiple times, and row companions who were mad into PDA. I rolled into my bed at around three AM.

I sometimes wish that home was closer, or that home was here. I sometimes wish that my family had never moved and that Portland was my forever. But everything happens for a reason. I never would have known San Diego. I never would have known my friends there. I never would have gotten the curiosity about southern California out of my system. I never would have moved to North Carolina. I wouldn’t know the people I know now, or have had the adventures I have had now.
Nostalgia isn’t always accurate. There are good days and bad days in your favorite places and the glow of the past sometimes makes it seem perfect. If you can learn to live in today and enjoy the life that you have right now, your life will soar and your home will be wherever you are.

the wedding // home part four

Until next time,

Jamie

One thought on “the wedding // home part four

  1. Pingback: happy three year blogiversary! | jamieddaily

Leave a Reply

