What are you doing with your life?

Okay, so here’s a moment of vulnerability I feel the need to share. I don’t know what I want to do with my life.
I haven’t gone 27 years without a plan–let me reassure you. Just over a year ago I had many plans. I was extremely happy and content, driven and passionate. I had personal, spiritual, and professional goals. I was running two blogs and two YouTube channels. I worked from home. I was a wife. I had the schedules for my websites planned for the next year. I had my five year goals written out. I knew which conferences I wanted to attend and what creators I wanted to reach out to for mentorship. I was researching PR and management companies. I knew when I was going to start a family and how to save up for a house. I knew which job I wanted after the one I was at. 
I had all the plans you are supposed to have in order to be successful. And then one day, everything fell apart.
I sold everything, quit my job, sank into depression, and fought anxiety and insomnia. I moved 3000 miles to the other side of the country with what I could fit in my car. I felt like all I had left was my family. I didn’t have goals, I wasn’t a wife, and I had no drive for what I used to be passionate about. 
I followed the plan I made. Sell everything. Pack the rest. Use the money to move. Get a job as a receptionist. Figure the rest out later. 
I did all of that. And now, almost a year later, I still don’t have a plan for the rest. I don’t know what I want to do with my life. I never had big career goals. I have literally never had a plan to be a single 27 year old who must consider doing life alone. 
I can’t blame my ex, I can’t blame my education, and I can’t blame my circumstances. The only thing holding me back is myself. I have interests and passions. Maybe planning to pursue them as a career is scary. Maybe I just keep thinking I will do it tomorrow instead, or next year, or the year after. I like being an administrator. I love where I work. Maybe I don’t want to leave them. But maybe I also don’t want to feel uncomfortable. 
Maybe I can find my baby steps and work my way toward something. I just don’t know what that something is yet. It’s okay to be afraid, but it isn’t okay to let that fear hold you back from something you would regret not doing later in life. 

Until next time,

❤️ Jamie

8 thoughts on “What are you doing with your life?

  1. Pingback: happy three year blogiversary! | jamieddaily

  2. Hi Jamie, even though it’s been a year since your marriage ended, you have not been in NC a year yet nor have you been on your job a year yet. You write that you like where you work….is there room to grow? Can you see yourself in another position in the company? You also loved making videos. Maybe you can start to do that again in your spare time as a hobby and see where it goes. I know you want to have goals and plans, but I am sure you have heard the phrase: “Men plan and God laughs”. You are doing fine and I know getting older is on your mind, but focus more on what you love to do.

    So many people, me included, do not discover what they love doing until they are much older. You are doing so well for what you have been through, and you have come so far. You are smart, talented, funny, beautiful and compassionate. You will find your way. Trust that, trust your faith and pray. The answers will come. Hugs from CT!!!

    Like

    • Thanks, love. I appreciate all of your words of encouragement. I am hoping for room to grow in the company, but like you said I should pray about it. =] Some of my favorite people don’t really plan and they’re very happy (and successful).

      Like

  3. Sweetheart your doing just fine. These kind of life events take time to get through. This healing time is also a time to rediscover yourself. Please be gentle with yourself. Keep going forward, to your new reality. One day it will just click.
    Love you,
    Aunt Gail

    Like

  4. You’ve got this! I can relate to every single word you wrote, expect I have a husband and a family. But what about my life. I ask myself that all the time. If you need an outsider to talk too. I’m here for you.

    Like

    • Steph. Though you have a husband and family you can still lose yourself, we girls do that a lot. Explore what your interested in, it will only make your a better mom and partner. I had to find myself after 21 years of marriage, I did not even know my own favorite colors, but I knew his. Take time to invest in yourself now and again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

