october in the smoky mountains part I

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

I had been looking forward to this trip since I moved to North Carolina. The trees on the east coast are famously gorgeous during the fall. Taking a small break from work, life, and the weather of home, we drove several hours to the mountains. The air is fresh and crisp. The leaves were turning and the views were stunning. The day we left it was raining, but the clouds and fog in the mountains made that okay.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

Here’s a road trip tip. If you find yourself driving through the mountains while it is foggy, listen to “Once Upon a Dream” by Lana Del Rey from “Maleficent.” It is appropriately creepy.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

We rented a cute little place through Airbnb, which I would highly recommend. There are a lot of affordable and fun options for pretty much anywhere in the world. I know people who have traveled Europe and went Airbnb the whole way.
By the way, this is not sponsored. I’m just saying.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

My room was so tiny and hilarious. I loved it.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

The owner of the cabin seemed to love horses. Literally everything was horse themed, even the movie selections.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

On the morning of our second day, Jon visited the neighbor to ask about the area and came back with the best news ever. The Appalachian Trail was just a couple miles down the road. I will post about that hike and amazing life experience later so that I can properly share the photos. This photo of Jon and Coco is just a teaser. I am itching to go back. Maybe I can live on the trail? Anyone with me?

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

Coco survived the first hike of her life. She thought it was the greatest thing ever, but wasn’t so sure about getting her feet cleaned before getting back in the car.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

After hiking we drove into town. Waynesville, North Carolina is beautiful and their downtown is picturesque. We visited the classic and necessary tourist trap–the Mast General Store, followed by a dog shop, a Christmas store, and some antique window shopping. We decided to stop and have Thai food for dinner. It was delicious and extremely satisfying, especially after our hike.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

Being people who like to make the most out of every second of vacation, after dinner we had a fire. It took over half an hour to get the blaze going due to very damp wood, but Jon refused to quit. What a Man.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

My first attempt at a star photo. Space is pretty nuts. I have decided that I want to be an astronaut when I grow up.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

The next morning we got up before six am and climbed a mountain in the dark so that we could watch sunrise from the summit of Max Patch. This is a bucket list item I didn’t even know I would have. I am still in awe of this experience. I will post separately about it to share more photos and thoughts.

October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I October in the Smoky Mountains: Part I

I can’t even begin to explain how amazing our weekend was. Just three short days in the mountains is enough to give you a new, refreshed view on life. I’m excited to share a couple more posts with you. Here’s to hoping you all are having amazing Novembers!

Until next time,

Jamie

Leave a Reply

