goodbye 2015, hello 2016

I think that all of us can look back on 2015 and recognize that there were good times and there were bad times.  It might take an optimist to realize that the bad things taught us lessons that make the good times even sweeter.  In some ways I’m glad that 2015 is behind us, but in a lot of ways it was a really amazing year.  January was depressing and I found my heart anchored by an anguish that only time can heal.  Luckily I was surrounded by family, and would soon find a work environment that would build me up and help me discover myself again.

Of all of the things that happened in 2015, here is a survey of some of my takeaway:

Something positive that happened: It might not be so much something that happened, but more something that I did and somewhere that I went.  When I traveled to Oregon in June.  One of my high school best friends got married and I got to spend the weekend catching up with some amazing people.  They reminded me of who I am and re-grounded me.  I feel like I will always call Portland home, and I know that is partly because of the people who are there.

A personal highlight: I got to do so many amazing things in 2015.  My personal highlights were in the mountains.  I loved driving the Blue Ridge Parkway in June, but I think my true highlight was when we hiked to the top of Max Patch—a scenic outlook of the Appalachian Trail—to watch the sun rise.  If you don’t know what a mountaintop experience is, maybe you should brave the early morning hours to watch the sun and fog rise over the peaks and valleys of your closest mountain range.  It cures all types of ills and inspires something deep inside of you.

Blogging highlights: My blog is not about numbers.  I love you guys, your comments, and your involvement.  But honestly, the day that my blog stops making me happy (and starts making me unhappy) is the day that I’ll stop.  I get so excited every weekend because of the blog posts that will come out during the week.  My highlights are you guys, and more than anything, your support during a really difficult period of my life.

Relationship highlights: My coworkers.  Finding a work family like I have is a once in a lifetime kind of deal.  Everyone is passionate and driven.  They all own their own businesses, so their mentality about work is different.  They practice gratitude and positivity.  I can’t tell you how much I laugh with them.  How much I love and appreciate them.  How much my office and coworkers are everything I needed in 2015.  Getting to know me can be a slow process because I’m a private person who opens up in microscopic increments.  I appreciate everyone for sticking with me and loving me anyways.  And more than anyone I appreciate my family for every tiny and large thing that they have done for me.  There aren’t enough words.

But enough about the past.  What about the future?  What about 2016?

Things that I want to do and am looking forward to: I bought a tent so I want to go camping.  I want to spend more time with my coworkers outside of work.  And I am looking forward to exploring more of where I live.

What about that personal life?: I have two things on my agenda right now.  I just joined the worship band at my church and will start up with them in February.  It’s been a while since I’ve been on stage, and their format is different from what I’m used to, but I’m excited to welcome music back into my life on a more serious level.  I am also planning on moving out of my sister’s house in the near future so keep me in your prayers!

Where in the world will you go?: I want to camp at least once this year, and find another place to go hiking that isn’t five hours away.  I would love to go to a cavern, and can’t wait to go back to the mountains.  One of these days I would love to go skiing again, but I’m not sure that will happen in 2016.  One or two mini road trips are essential.  I might also go back west for another wedding.

What do you want to accomplish professionally?: I am very interested in making photography a part of my professional life.  I want to invest in my education and be more open to doing portrait sessions.

What about your blog?: I have big ideas but am small on time.  I would love to start doing guest posts and invite others to post on my blog.  I want to be more intentional with you guys and with other creators and writers.  I want to find and create a truly defined “Why” for my blog.  But I don’t want to do any of these things at the expense of losing my Love for this blog.

We can’t see into the future and don’t know what the fruits of our lives will be.  We see our past through the jaded lens of nostalgia and look at the greener grass on the other side.  Things are not always better somewhere else.  Sometimes we are exactly where we are supposed to be.  Nothing is permanent, so embrace what makes you happy, work on what doesn’t, and realize that this too shall pass—the good and the bad.  You are valuable, you are loved, and you are worth it.  Let’s have a great 2016, friends.

Until next time,

Jamie

Like on Facebook 6785274_f520Follow on Twitter

goodbye 2015, hello 2016

3 thoughts on “goodbye 2015, hello 2016

  1. Pingback: happy three year blogiversary! | jamieddaily

Leave a Reply

