moving out: my new chapter

An Introduction

moving out an introduction

2015 was the year of exploring. It was the year of creating new memories in a new place with good people. It was about healing and starting over.

2016 is starting off different. New memories have been established. Healing has happened. Now it’s time to move on and exert some independence. It is time to set down some roots and learn to call North Carolina home.
My biggest step in learning to rely on myself is to move out of my sister’s house. This isn’t very exciting for me because I love my sister and her husband and they are, to be perfectly honest, the best roommates I could ever have. I am not excited to live by myself, despite the fact that I’m an introvert and there will be some definite perks. Be that as it may, I have learned to look on the positive side of things. I realize that I choose to make my own happiness or my own misery as I see fit.
My new place is awesome and old. It has its quirks and some good and bad characteristics. I’m stoked about having all wood floors and a few neighbors. I love all of the windows and the natural light. I’m not keen on the huge return air vent that takes up most of my hallway, and I am forcing myself to be cheerful about the tiny bathroom whose door doesn’t open all of the way and has a serious lack of storage. But everyone has to be broke at one point in their lives. It makes you better, stronger, and gives you awesome stories. I’ve listened to other people talk about stealing toilet paper or eating nothing but top ramen. Now it’s my turn.
Over the next few weeks I’ll walk you through my new place, from the trip to IKEA to the “finished” (although is a home ever really finished?) product. There are big changes happening this year, and I am excited to share them with you.

Until next time,

Jamie

6785274_f520
Like on Facebook
Follow on Twitter

moving out an introduction

9 thoughts on “moving out: my new chapter

  1. Pingback: moving out: my new chapter – my first week | jamieddaily

  2. Pingback: moving out: my new chapter – moving in | jamieddaily

  3. Pingback: moving out: shopping | jamieddaily

  4. Jamie, I am so happy and excited for you!!! I searched high and low for a place with vintage charm like your bathroom and wood floors, but it was not in my budget as those perks cost a lot here in CT. So I have a studio complete with wall to wall carpet except the bathroom & the kitchen areas. It is dated (late 80’s early 90’s in some ways like the windows and appliances) but has new cabinets in the kitchen & bath plus it is cheap and safe and I will make it my own. You will do the same with your place. I know how bittersweet it is to leave your family, but you are still close enough to stay close and you are finding your way on your own. You have come so far in a year. Good for you!!! Cannot wait to see what you do to the place!!!

    Like

    • Ugh, yeah there are pros and cons to everywhere you live. I feel so blessed to have found this little gem and I’m sure there will be a lot of quirks with living in an old place. But just like you I look for the perks and love the floors and the safety and the price. And you’re absolutely right, I still live close to my family and that’s a huge blessing. Thank you so much for your kind words and support this last year! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

