moving out: my new chapter – my first week

If you missed my previous posts about moving out, here is post one, post two,and post three.

moving into my apartment

My first week at my new apartment.
I was excited.
I was nervous.
Lucky for me, I’m an introvert with a very social job and am very capable of entertaining myself.

moving out: week one

On my first day I took a half day at work to have my gas and internet hooked up. I also spent the day unpacking, washing dishes, and organizing.

moving out: week one moving out: week one moving out: week one

My little abode.

moving out: week one moving out: week one

My first night at the apartment, Kasey and Jon came over with Chinese food. We watched The Princess Diaries and hung out. I then ate Chinese food for the rest of the week, until I finally ran out and had to go grocery shopping on Friday.

moving out: week one

When Kasey and Jon came over, they surprised me with their keyboard, sitting in the back of their car. I don’t know what I’ve done to deserve my family, because they are seriously the most wonderful people. Now I have a little music corner, and my neighbors are lucky it’s a keyboard with a volume control.

moving out: week one

My first home cooked meal in the apartment.

moving out: week one

This is when I finally cleared the kitchen table off enough to eat dinner at it. I LOVE my table.

So far living alone has been good. I’m an introvert, so I’m okay alone. I get a lot of socializing at work, so it works for me.
On the flip side, I have social anxiety and hate doing things by myself. The first time I went grocery shopping, I had to talk myself into getting out of the car and through the first few isles of the store. The first time I went to Walmart alone (at night, and had a man in his car–that was RUNNING, by the way–stare me down), I cried.
As I was telling myself that being afraid is okay–that being afraid means I’m about to do something brave–and as I was despairing my state of aloneness, I realized that I will never be alone. Because God is never going to leave me alone. And maybe that is what I need to learn right now. It is always about trusting Him, whether it is His protection or His provision or His timing.

moving into my apartment moving into my apartment moving into my apartment moving into my apartment moving into my apartment

Until next time,

Jamie

6785274_f520
Like on Facebook
Follow on Twitter

Leave a Reply

